Blog & Latest News

Megan Davis

Megan Davis

1. How many years have you been practicing Physical Therapy?
I graduated from MCPHS University in May 2017 and started practicing in July 2017. Prior to my graduation, I had 30 weeks of clinical experience and about two years of combined experience as a rehabilitation aide.

2. Why did you choose to become a Physical Therapist?
Growing up, I was always involved in some kind of sport or physical activity creating a love to be active. I also experienced two knee surgeries while in high school, allowing me to become very familiarized with the physical therapy world as a patient. After going through physical therapy as a patient, and talking with friends and family in the medical field, I decided that physical therapy was a good fit for me. Physical therapy allows me to combine a few of my passions and goals, such as being active, helping others, and obtaining a job in the medical field. I also chose physical therapy because it allows you to build a professional relationship with your patients and be there with them throughout their rehabilitation. It’s always rewarding to help others reach their goals.

3. Was there anything in particular that inspired your career choice?
My time as a physical therapy patient during my high school years, as well as my drive to be active, help people, and be part of the medical field.

4. Do you have any mentors or role models who inspired your career?
Many people have inspired my career, from friends and family to clinical instructors and professors, to those patients whom I have worked with in the past as a rehabilitation aide and physical therapy student.

5. Please describe a typical day for you at SCPT.
I like arriving at SCPT about 20-30 min early to prepare for my day. Once my day gets going, I work directly with and interact with patients and other staff members. I finish my documentation after treating my last patients, trying to get all or most of my documentation completed before I leave the clinic.

6. What are some of your personal interests or hobbies?
Coaching alpine racing to younger children, skiing, hiking, and paddle boarding.

7. What do you do to stay active?
I like to ski, paddleboard, hike, and go for walks to name a few.

8. What is something that most people don’t know about you?
In the past, I had the opportunity to work as a rehabilitation aide at a K9 hydrotherapy clinic. It was a wonderful experience because I have always had a love for animals and had no idea until this experience that I could combine that love with physical therapy. It is a possible future goal to get my certification for K9 rehabilitation.

9. What is the most rewarding part of your work?
Being able to connect with patients to help them reach their goals, whether those goals are big or small.

10. If you could eat a meal with anyone in the world, with whom would you eat?
I’m pretty simple and would enjoy a fun, laid back dinner with friends and family.

11. What are three things you cannot live without?
Friends, family, and my dog.

12. Where is one place you have always wanted to visit?
Alaska

13. Who or what inspires you?
Helping others reach their goals, friends, and family.

Top